Wrightsville Beach Triathlon aka Oh Sh*t It’s Raining

Can you tell that it's dark o clock and raining?

Can you tell that it’s dark o clock and raining?

Rain. That’s what I found when I opened my garage door Saturday am at 5:15. In the past I might have said “forget it”, closed the door, and headed back to bed. But not today. Today was a brick, another training day, and an opportunity to do the same swim course as the Beach to Battleship (minus some distance). Plus, my friend Jennifer was driving down from Topsail Beach for her first open water swim so I had to be there.

Luckily for me it wasn’t a cold rain. And in a way it was kind of nice because it seemed to keep some people away. Usually this is a big race and once you get to the swim start it’s hard to find people you know. Fellow triathletes congregate on this beautiful green lawn and usually it’s covered with people, but this year it wasn’t. Tracy and her husband Steve came over via boat and was able to spot us right away which was awesome. She’s done the race and is a regular swimmer so we talked tides, wind direction, and the best way to go. It’s a straight path and then a bend kind of swim, but if the tide is pushing you need to take that into account.

I’m happy to say that my sighting was good (for me anyway- I tend to zigzag), and I was able to line up where I wanted to, make the turn, and continue around the bend to the finish line ladders. Although super slow, I felt good, just plodding away. Made it into transition one (T1), tried to get the grass off my feet and off I went.

The bike was a lot of fun. I got into a pack and tried to see how many people I could pass without blowing out my legs. I got passed on the right once, which freaked me out and I saw a guy skid out on a turn right behind me. Wet roads + turns= slow down! Funniest thing about the bike must have been my wet road shoes. They were squishy! It was kind of gross.

The run was just a normal 5k. Saw Tracy and Steve again by a coffee shop. They were in the “breakfast burrito” division, according to her, which made me laugh.  She refused to give me a cup of coffee.

Made it to the finish in seven minutes faster than the previous year which made me very happy. Wanted to stick around and chat, but I had to get home in order to roll into Chris’ car to head to Myrtle Beach for little C’s soccer games. I threw my bike in the garage, hopped into his car, tri suit on and all, and changed en route to the game. I’m sure I smelled lovely and looked even better.

A huge shout out to my friend Jennifer, who not only completed her first open water tri, but did it after being in New Orleans for a full week and to the 11(!) year old local girl who did her first WB tri as well. Solo. All by herself. Freaking awesome. To her credit, her parents are huge triathletes/runners as well. I told this to little C and now he’s all hyped up to do a relay. The part he wants to do? The run. Of course. Legally, he has to be ten, but I might have to send out an email and just poke around a bit. Maybe there’s one he can do when he’s nine? Hmmm…..

We're so sexy

Jen and I. We’re so sexy

Five weeks until Beach 2 Battleship. If I don’t start running some longer distances I’m going to be toast. Motivation, where are you?? This cooler weather should help me get moving. It’s perfect running weather here in the southeast.

2 thoughts on “Wrightsville Beach Triathlon aka Oh Sh*t It’s Raining

Leave a Reply

